What are the Penalties for a Second DUI in Maryland?
If you have been arrested and charged with your second DUI, it’s important that you consult with an experienced DUI lawyer in Rockville. The penalties for a second offense are significantly worse than the penalties for first-time offenders, which are still quite severe in their own right. If you are convicted of a second DUI, you face up to $2,000 in fines and penalties, license suspension for one year, a mandatory ignition interlock device, and up to two years in jail.
When searching for a DUI defense lawyer in Rockville , look for an attorney who has completed a law enforcement course in DWI/DUI detection. This certification enables criminal defense attorneys to challenge a DUI arrest using the same methods and testing procedures as those used by the police.
Preparing for Your Meeting with a Lawyer
If you’re facing legal troubles and seeking legal representation, make sure you are prepared for your first meeting with a lawyer in Rockville . Being unprepared can be a waste of time for both you and the lawyer, and it may even have an impact on the outcome of your case. In addition to basic contact information, you’ll want to provide your lawyer with a chronological summary of the facts in your case. Also make sure to bring any documents that relate to your legal matter, include contracts, photographs, accident reports, witness statements, and correspondences. Even if you don’t believe a document to be important, your criminal defense lawyer may find it incredibly valuable in mounting your legal defense.
It can also be helpful to prepare a list of goals that you want the lawyer to help you achieve. If you have any questions about what you should bring, call the defense attorney prior to your initial consultation.
Maryland’s DUI Laws
Being arrested for drunk driving in Maryland can have far-reaching and long-lasting consequences. Even first-time offenses can carry steep fines and prison time if convicted, so contact an experienced and aggressive DUI lawyer in Rockville if you have been charged with driving under the influence. To help you know where you stand, here’s a look at the different charges and penalties under Maryland law.
DUI vs. DWI
Driving under the influence (DUI) is the top alcohol infraction, and it means that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) posted at a level of 0.08% or higher. People who end up on the lower end of the BAC spectrum but fail on a field sobriety test (administered by a police officer) are charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). In defending against a DUI or DWI, your criminal defense lawyer will analyze the results of field sobriety tests and/or chemical tests to find weaknesses in the case against you. Your lawyer will use these findings to negotiate down during sentencing or have your case dismissed entirely.
First offense DUI carries administrative license suspension penalties of six months. Reinstatement will require completion of an alcohol/substance abuse treatment program. An ignition interlock device may be mandated at the discretion of the courts upon reinstatement. First-time offenders also face incarceration for up to one year, with enhanced penalties of up to two years if transporting a minor at time of arrest. Fines and penalties for a DUI conviction amount to $1,000 for a first offense and are significantly higher for second and third offenses. A third offense also carries jail time of up to three years.
An experienced DUI/DWI defense attorney in Rockville can help you avoid the most serious consequences of a drunk driving conviction. Schedule your initial consultation as soon as possible after arrest to give your lawyer ample time to formulate an effective defense strategy.